Faculty building Copyright: © Peter Winandy

Photo: Peter Winandy


The Faculty Today

The Faculty of Arts and Humanities has a total of ten institutes split up into three departments. They include the more traditional humanities subjects as well as subjects that are more empirically and analytically oriented.

The faculty has an interdisciplinary offering. Bridges to the engineering and natural sciences faculties are made in research and teaching.

Academic examination of our culture is thus not fixed within a certain perspective. Rather philosophical, social, and technical-natural scientific aspects combine to create a comprehensive perspective.

more...zu: The Faculty Today


History of the Faculty

The RWTH Aachen Faculty of Arts and Humanities was founded in 1965 with Chairs of English Studies, German Philology, Modern German Literary History, Ancient History, History of the Middle Ages, Modern History, and Romance Philology.

Teacher training was among one of the focuses of the education. Over the course of time other chairs were added and study possibilities were expanded.